Premiere Music Distributors

Chris Cortez: Awakenings

Chris Cortez: Awakenings

Catalog Number: BBM008
Label: Blue Bamboo Music
Format: CD

Available: 14
Price: $13.99

Chris Cortez

Featuring: Woody Witt, Paul Peacock, Joel Fulgham, Ryan Ogrodowicz, Glen Ackerman, Jeff Mills, Andrew Lienhard, John Wooton, and Mark Piszczek.

After hurricane Katrina forced the guitarist to relocate to Houston, Cortez re-invented himself. His new CD is a collection of aggressive, original, instrumental, latin jazz/fusion tunes.

Cortez burns on an acoustic guitar throughout 10 tracks, impeccably recorded. The sound is modern, fresh, and unique, presenting latin rhythms, odd meters, tight ensemble passages, and extended solos.

The CD is a departure from Mum Is The Word (BBM007-2005), and Hold It Right There (BBM006-2004), in that it contains no vocals, and features Chris in a much more modern musical setting.

Chris forges ahead into brand new territory on Arlington Park, Territorial Imperative, Palmettos, Interlude, Let The Cat Out, Awakenings, The Rose Of Shalamar, The Iguana, Eventide, and Different Strokes.

Cortez' spectacular guitar work is front and center, and all of the supporting cast deliver incredible performances throughout.

Track ListingTimeMP3
1Arlington Park3:53
2Territorial Imperative5:23
3Palmettos4:57Chris Cortez: Awakenings - Palmettos
5Let The Cat Out5:24
6Awakenings4:42Chris Cortez: Awakenings - Awakenings
7The Rose Of Shalamar4:48
8The Iguana7:44
9Eventide6:39Chris Cortez: Awakenings - Eventide
10Different Strokes5:04